Where are you located?
American Bartending School of Tampa
3310 West Cypress St.
Tampa, Florida 33607
813-876-1616 or 1-800-BARTEND
Can I come and check out the school before I decide?
We strongly recommend you do not pay for any deposits or registration fee and visit the school first. Bartending schools should be about providing great personal training and attention to students. We try to do this to the best of our abilities every day.
When can I visit the school?
Come by when we are open or call us for an appointment.
How big are your classes?
12 students per class.
What do you teach during the 40-hour program?
- Liquor and liqueur knowledge
- How to professionally prepare the top 125 popular drinks
- How to prepare the new trendy drinks
- How to precisely free pour
- Beer knowledge
- Wine Basics
- How to exactly free pour
- The business side of the bar
- High volume bartending strategies
- Speed and accuracy
- Professional customer service techniques
- Responsible liquor service (intoxication awareness)
- Job search skills and techniques
- Having fun behind the bar
Does ABS assist in job placement?
Yes, we assist all graduates in finding employment after graduation. Please refer to our Job Placement section in our website.
Where can I work after completing program?
A good bartender can work anywhere here in Tampa-St. Pete area and anywhere in the country or even in the world.
When is the next ABS class start?
We start every Monday. However, we cannot guarantee your seating until you register and receive enrollment confirmation from ABS
How can I secure my seat in class?
We recommend you Register for Free on our website or call us to register for free over the telephone. This will usually guarantee your seat, especially after we confirm your registration and officially enroll you in our program. Our classes are formed on a “first registered, first enrolled” basis.
Do I have to visit ABS before starting class?
No. However, we highly recommend it. We just want to make sure you feel comfortable with our instructors, staff and instructional bar setting.
Does ABS provide any ServSafe certification?
Yes. ABS does offer ServSafe Alcohol certification backed by the National Restaurant Association. ServSav is not included in our bartending/mixology program.
How old do you have to be to bartend in Florida?
Students must be 18 years of age or older. While you must be 21 years of age to drink alcohol in the state of Florida, you may legally mix and serve alcoholic beverages at age 18 per Florida Statute 562.13.
Do I need a high school diploma?
Students are not required to have a high school diploma or GED to receive our bartending training.